Rulers of Bahrain Listen to this page using ReadSpeaker

facebook twitter linkedin mail share

Constitutional Framework

Since the 18th century, the head of the Al Khalifa, the country's ruling family, has assumed the title of Amir. A constitution promulgated  in 2002 established Bahrain as a constitutional hereditary monarchy whose head of state is now titled king. Under the new constitution the executive is composed of a prime minister, who is head of the government, and a Council of Ministers, all of whom are appointed by the king. The legislative branch consists of two houses: a 40-member Consultative Council  that is also appointed by the king and a 40-member Chamber of Deputies  that is elected by universal adult suffrage. Lastly, the King heads the Supreme Judicial Council , and judicial rulings are issued in the name of the King, all in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution.

Rulers of Bahrain

Rulers of Bahrain
Period of Ruling

Shaikh Muhammad bin Khalifa bin Muhammad


Shaikh Khalifa bin Muhammad Al Khalifa


Shaikh Ahmad bin Muhammad Al Khalifa (Al Fatih)


Shaikh Salman bin Ahmad Al Khalifa


Shaikh Abdulla bin Ahmad Al Khalifa


Shaikh Muhammad bin Khalifa Al Khalifa


Shaikh Ali bin Khalifa Al Khalifa


Shaikh Muhammad bin Abdulla Al Khalifa

1869 (September- December)

Shaikh Isa bin Ali Al Khalifa


Shaikh Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa


Shaikh Salman bin Hamad Al Khalifa


Shaikh Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa


HM King Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa

1999- Now

Page Last Updated: 06 Jan, 2022